An Ember in the Ashes – Book Review

An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir  is the first book I read in 2017. This book is one I tried to avoid for no reason really, however I am so glad I gave it a chance because it completely exceeded my expectations; well, my lack of expectations. I hadn’t heard much about the book and refused to look into it because I didn’t have much interest to read it. A number of book tubers were talking about this book and almost every time I got on Twitter there was some tweet about how good this book is.

So, I finally gave it a chance and although I’m a bit late, this book is one of my favorites I’ve read in the past year besides Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series and the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes is such an interesting read and the worlds she’s created is so creatively evil and original. Her characters were so easy to root for and some so easy to not root for. I enjoyed reading this story and loved the writing style. The book is told from two different points of view and I like how Tahir brings the two perspectives together.

One thing that kinda threw me for a loop is that there is a bit of magic in this book. I wasn’t expecting it, but it complements the story well when you get into. Overall, I give the book five stars because this book got me out of a reading slump and I just love it and can’t wait to read the second book.

Also check out my Booktube review of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes on my sister and my’s YouTube channel Sunny Magnolias. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCED7TwmSmw

Leave a Reply

