Everything Everything – Book Review

IMG_20170516_171039_136

 

Everything Everything is a book I did not anticipate to like  as much as I did. After seeing this book everywhere I had no intention of reading it. After reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green I didn’t think I’d be able to deal with another book about a sick, possibly dying teenager again.

Admittedly I only read the book because of the trailer that was released for the movie not too long ago. After seeing Amandla Steinberg as Maddy, I really gained an interest in the book and am so glad I did.
One thing I loved about this book is how the character is multi-racial. She has a mother who is half Japanese and a father who is African-American. There are so few characters like this and it definitely piqued my interest.

Maddy and Olly, the main two characters, are two characters I felt so comfortable reading. Their friendship, their love story, and their fascination with one another before they physically meet is just so great. How everything unfolds is written quite well. Nicola Yoon’s writing style is superb, quirky, and really comical at times. There are some sentences that are absolutely breathtaking and I found myself re-reading sentences just because of how beautifully they were written. I enjoyed reading every single page.

The ending of the story is kind of predictable, but I didn’t mind at all. I believe it actually adds to the story as a whole. The ending although a bit lackluster works so well for me. I loved it and wished there was more, but I love a good stand-alone and I think Nicola Yoon’s Everything Everything is a very good stand-alone.

I totally recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

