A Task of Patience

Pocket Watch-Patience

Patience is a gift I am currently struggling to grasp a hold of. I find myself wanting certain things much too soon and succumb to frustration because things are not working out the way I want them to. At times I forget patience is a skill to be mastered and not magic dust to sprinkle upon things to speed up my expectations. I like to think that I am extremely patient, but I know that is not necessarily the truth. One thing I’ve been struggling with the most out of the many things I lack patience in, is my writing. Writing, is my first love when it comes to the arts. It is something I started a very long time ago and have grown to love and perfect that which I believe God has gifted me with. Yet, I don’t do very well with setting aside time to write. It’s too hard and requires an acquired discipline I seem not to have.

When I think of sitting down at a desk, a coffee shop, a bench outside in the sun to write, I cringe internally and quiet the voice telling me to write with music or Netflix. I do very well with watching Netflix. Although I love writing immensely, I think a part of me is frustrated that writing requires patience and that what I write will not be good. It is an obvious fact that if I don’t write anything I will never know if what I come up with will be any good. But I still find myself not writing, constantly thinking about writing, and still not doing it. So, as I write this  I’m forcing myself to sit at a desk and write something. I want to put down words and have them be good, meaningful, and important. Writing this post for me is important because I need to remind myself that I love words and that I must teach myself patience in this craft of writing. I need to remind myself that what I have to say is important and can have meaning and that I must not only have patience with writing, but I must have patience with myself as a human being.

So, if you need to be reminded to be patient, here is the reminder. Be patient with yourself and any task you put your hands to. Remember that you are human and be patient. 🙂

5.In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s promises. Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, 6.and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness,[…] 2 Peter 1:5-6

 

 

Signed,

A patient writer.

Leave a Reply

