Touching the Sky is not so Impossible After All

Lately my favorite song has been Touch the Sky by Hillsong United. I have been listening to it on repeat the last couple of days and I am constantly reminded of the infinite love God has solely for me. It is such a wonderful reminder to know that the Creator of the entire universe loves me so deeply and that in Him life, although it may not always be easy, is quite beautiful. So, at the moment this song is like a breath of fresh air for me. A part of the lyrics is this,

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

Life becomes much more filling and satisfying, I think, when we find God and in finding Him continue searching and learning more about who He says He is. In the realization of having a deeper understanding of God there is a sense of freedom and lightness of heart that comes upon us in a way that nothing else can. It’s like falling in love, truly. The sky is bluer and the grass is greener in a very real way. These four lines are the best part of the song for me because it is how I feel about my relationship with Jesus. My life took on a whole new meaning when I found Jesus. I’m in a breathtaking whirlwind of discovering who God is.

I think that is how God wants all of us to know Him. To fall so beautifully and completely in love with Him and take this life He has given us and live it with the boldness and free-ness that only comes from relationship with Him. Every breath is a neatly wrapped gift of opportunity and surprise and hope. We can live life and reach the potential God has placed in each of us when we surrender to His love. Touching the sky is no longer an impossibility.

I own no rights to the video below.

Leave a Reply

