You Fit Me

I wrote this poem last night. It is from the perspective of God and how he desires for us to draw closer to Him. Sometimes it is hard for us to grasp that God DEEPLY DESIRES for us to know Him. We were created by God for God, He loves us and longs for us to know Him in intimate fellowship, to allow Him to be the Lover of our souls.

You know that saying, “You fit me like a glove.”
I created you to fit to me, in a position so comfortably, so easily
yet you make it impossible, using our glove as a wall of security
making my love for you unsteady,
you continue to rock the boat afraid you’ll fall overboard
You fit to me like clay to a potter’s hand
once I latch on its kind of hard to let go, a little too hard to peel off.
You push away any chance of intimacy, peeling my fingers from your heart
you let me slip, the pain searing the side of my cheek as your glove slaps like a whip
Still, you fit to me as the clouds fit the sky
when you drift away the rays of my love always reels you back in

*Psalm 139: 13-17

13You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
15You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
16You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.
17How precious are your thoughts about me,

 Or How precious to me are your thoughts.

O God.

Leave a Reply

